God + The Impossible

Matthew 6:32-33 - For the unbelievers run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Is money an issue for you? Psh. God’s bigger. I didn’t always say that with conviction, but I do now. And here’s why.

May 27th at my youth group’s worship team meeting, I was all super emotionally messed up because I was exhausted and literally hadn’t eaten all day, and I let slip to Carissa that I was having a hard time trusting God with money. I knew I had to go to school next year to finish up my general studies at SPSCC, and then move on to get my Music Therapy Degree at Seattle Pacific University because a Music Therapy degree is what God’s been pushing me to do… but how on earth was I supposed to come up with $1,000 for fall quarter at SPSCC, let alone $111,754 for four years at SPU?

One of the big reasons I was feeling discouraged was because all the acceptance letters from the SPSCC Scholarship Foundation had already come in. I’d applied for every single one I was qualified for. I’d made the early deadline and everything. And even Levi had gotten his congratulatory letter for a $2,000 Arts Scholarship, and I was like, “Oh, well, I guess my train has passed.”

And then I was going to fill out the the form for a $2,000 scholarship that I could get through my union at work, and as I was filling it out, I happened across a line on the form that said I had to have been a member in good standing of the union for a year at the time of application…it was the end of May then, and I joined in August of last year. So, disappointed and defeated, I decided, “Okay, God, I trust you. One way or another, I’m gonna get $1,000 by September, and you’re going to help me.”

But I was still struggling, because I always struggle with trusting someone other than myself to make things happen.

WELL.

When we finally left the church that night and Levi dropped me off at my house, there was a piece of mail for me on the table from SPSCC. Not thinking anything of it (I thought it was my information for admissions in the fall or something), I opened it and started to read the letter.

And then I burst into tears.

“Dear Hannah,

 

On behalf of South Puget Sound Community College, I would like to extend sincere congratulations to you on being selected as a recipient of the Achievement in the Arts Scholarship in the amount of $2,000 and the Greene Family Scholarship in the Arts in the amount of $1,000. These scholarships will be applied toward your tuition and fees for the 2010-11 academic year….”

God. is. SO. Good.
I have money not just for fall quarter, but for fall, winter, and spring. I have enough money now to graduate that community college with my AA by June 2011.

I’m done trying to take on the impossible by myself. And I’m done worrying about the things that I can’t control. Because, let’s face it–everything is out of my control. I don’t control anything, because everything is in God’s hands.

Lesson learned, God. I trust you.

Leave a Reply

