From Glory to Glory

Proverbs 27:7 – One who is full loathes honey from the comb, but to the hungry even what is bitter tastes sweet.

I was listening to a sermon by Pastor Bill based around this verse, and it rocked me. He was talking about how we will all get to a point in our relationship with Papa where the devil and his plots will not be our greatest enemy–but rather, our greatest enemy will come from a spirit of familiarity.

There was a pastor–I don’t know his name–who preached on Psalm 91 all his life, because God kept opening up new revelation on it, and he didn’t need to move on to another chapter of scripture. He would be in a tight situation, and ask God to remind him of a promise he needed to hear, and God would show him something in Psalm 91 that would keep him going.

I so want that. I want that level of childlikeness where no matter how much revelation I get from one portion of the Word, I never get to a level where I know it so much forwards and backwards that I limit myself to what I know, rather than letting Him breathe freshly into it again.

I have a challenge for all you beautiful and radically passionate people. Take a Scripture that has fed you before–a ‘life verse,’ or just a verse with sentimental value–and ask Papa to open it up to you again. Sit on it. Pray on it. Start declaring it. See what new life gets drawn out of it as the result. What else does He mean when He says “For I know the plans I have for you?” What does it mean when Jesus says “Seek first the Kingdom of Heaven, and all your earthly needs will be given to you?”

As I was listening to this sermon by Pastor Bill, I received revelation on what it truly means to live from glory to glory (as in 2 Corinthians 3:18). I was slightly disappointed by the last season in my life, and I remember asking Papa more than once, “God, why am I not moving from glory to glory? Your Word promises me this lifestyle of constantly living in Your presence, becoming intimate with Your ways, and being surrounded by Your works.” And it hit me yesterday that moving from glory to glory doesn’t mean that there are no transitions between God’s miracles.It doesn’t mean that He’s just shooting works of His presence rapid-fire at us every time we turn around. There will be seasons where we’ll see it this way, and there will be seasons where we live in the extraordinary, and of course we should never not expect that we will have radical encounters with Him every day…but there are seasons of dryness, too. So how do we continue living from glory to glory amid those seasons?

We stay hooked on the things God has done for us. What was the last demonstration of His power and His presence that was revealed to you? Savor it. Remember it often. Like Mary in Luke 2, keep in in your heart and dwell on it often. Mary probably wasn’t surrounded by miracles every single day of her life. She, just like the rest of us, probably wasn’t showered by supernatural occurrence after supernatural occurrence. Even when Jesus took up his ministry, she wasn’t there to see every miracle He performed. But the Word says that she kept the miraculous things she saw in her heart, and thought of them often.

I believe that’s the key to going from glory to glory. To hide the things that God has done in our hearts, to let them steep deep in our spirit. Don’t get weighted down by the mundane of the everyday life. We will have seasons of drought and dryness as our sensitivity to His presence wanes and waxes, ebbs and flows like the ocean’s tide. But we must always, always stay hungry for His presence. We must be addicts to His presence, so we can know His ways. Follow the rabbit trail of His works to know His ways, and don’t stop until you’re soaked in the Presence. If we stay excited about what God has done for us, then we won’t become hopeless and weighed down by what we don’t see Him doing. We won’t get distracted by expectantly waiting for Him to move again, because we will be constantly living in what He’s already done.

Good night, world. Sleep in peace.

Song of Songs 5:2 – I sleep, but my heart is awake.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joanne marin
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 07:22:27

    This is truly a wonderful piece you have written. It’s very encouraging and inspiring and has helped me to understand once again, that God is always with us.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Joanne Marin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

