Psalm 1:1

Psalm 1:1 (Amp) – Blessed (happy, fortunate, prosperous, and enviable) is the man who walks and lives not in the counsel of the ungodly [following their advice, their plans and purposes], nor stands [submissive and inactive] in the path where sinners walk, nor sits down [to relax and rest] where the scornful [and the mockers] gather.

According to Psalm 1:1, I will be blessed if…

  1. I do not live by or seek the counsel of the ungodly. This means following their advice, adopting their plans, or conforming to their purposes.
  2. I do not merely “go with the flow.”
  3. I do not rest at the gathering place of people who are scornful or mockers.

1. – I will not seek advice from ungodly sources, and I will not follow advice from ungodly sources unless it matches up with counsel from a godly source. (In other words, I will prioritize the counsel I receive based on godliness.) I will not be a sheep in a shephardless flock, blindly following the plans or adopting the purposes of the world.

2. – There is no “off” switch to my worship time. I cannot allow myself to let my thoughts or actions or mouth be defiled just because of the company I keep. I will be in the world, hanging around the lost and the dirty and the broken, but I will not be inactive or submissive to their ways.

I am a king, they are in my kingdom, and I will give them honor because I deserve it. If they’re near me, they are in my seat of honor, eating from my table—not the other way around. I am not entering into a kingdom of darkness to plead its inhabitants to swim across the moat into the kingdom of light; I bring my Kingdom with me and conform the culture everywhere I go.

3. – I need to be mindful of where I find my rest. Where have I pitched the tent of my sanctuary? Where does my guard come down? Where is a safe place I have established with God to be in a state of spirit-sleep communion, to stop outputting and filtering and just to listen? If my downtime is on Facebook, I’m not doing a good job of not resting where the scornful and mockers gather.

This is why I should limit and prioritize my Facebook time, and not let my filters down while I’m online.

Leave a Reply

