Fretting

Psalm 37:1 (AMP) – Fret not yourself because of evildoers, nor be envious against those who work unrighteousness (that which is not upright or in right standing with God).

In guitar terminology, when you clamp a capo on a fret, you increase the tension by making the strings shorter, which produces a higher sound and thus changes the key up however many half steps.

This verse speaks to me where it normally wouldn’t; beginning with “fret nor yourself,” I thought of myself as a guitar.

When I worry, stress, or get distracted or heated up about something, it takes me out of the key I was meant to play in, and also shortens my strings, limiting my range of play.

When I allow myself to become distressed by what I feel or see around me, I begin to work outside of my anointing, or my “key.” If you slapped a capo on a guitar in the middle of a song, but continued trying to play the song in the same key, the chords would likely be a lot more complex and difficult. Working outside your calling or anointing is truly exhausting for this very reason.

Leave a Reply

