Receive it Forward

Alternatively titled, “How My Momentary Materialistic Desire Yielded Heavy Revelation.” The following is the result of a thought that crosses my mind only for a fleeting second on a semiregular basis. The subject I use for this illustration is not something that takes up a great deal of my life or my attention—just so you know. Be warned, there is satirical content ahead.

______________________________________________

Doesn't it look like she's having just a little too much fun?

I wish I had a blow dryer.

You see, my hair is getting to the length now where if I don’t do something to it right after I get out of the shower, I’m ruined until the next time I take a shower. My hair will be completely uncooperative to anything aesthetic save pulling it back in a ponytail—if you could call that aesthetic.

For everyday use, I have an adorable little straightener that isn’t anything like the Hana I used to have, but it gets the job done. I got the straightener from my friend Ebony in Redding, who offered it to me as part of a set with a matching blow dryer.

She offered me the entire set for free because she didn’t need an extra one. And me, naively thinking I would want my hair less than four inches long for the rest of my life, decided only on the straightener, because the was the need that I had in the here and now. Well, that was back in March. Clearly, my hair’s quite a bit longer now.

Like, it's the end of the world if, like, every strand isn't, like, uniform and stuff.

I’ve used the blow dryers of the women of the three houses I’ve circulated staying in for the past five months, so I haven’t gone completely without—but there are times when the coveted appliance is unavailable for my use and so I must suffer. Every time I find myself faced with the woes of towel-drying my hair, I flash back to the time Ebony offered me her blow dryer along with the straightener. And I kick myself rigorously for not just receiving what she had to give me and saving it for a later day.
______________________________________________

Seriously. Our gift table looked like THIS.

In case you didn’t know, I got married a month ago, on September 9th. It was a glorious day filled with sunshine, lots of behind the scenes stressing, and a MOUNTAIN of gifts  accompanying the 250-guest turnout. On the first day of our honeymoon, my husband Levi and I went to my mom’s house for lunch with my family from out of state and to open our gifts, as I was going to be returning to Federal Way for classes immediately following the honeymoon and would not have time to do gifts in between.

We were radically blessed by all our friends and family pouring out their love and support to us through many of the items on our registries, as well as personalized, tasteful gifts reflecting either theirs or our personalities. By the time we were done tearing the wrapping paper off our 80 or so gifts (and writing down accompanying names for thank-you cards), we had noticed a common theme: towels.


We got towels out the wazoo. We got duplicates of towels taken from our Target registry, Ralph Lauren towels from Macy’s sent to us by a great aunt in Oregon, cushy luxury towels that weren’t even on the registry, and a heap of bright, beautiful kitchen towels. But mostly bath towels. At first, my thought was to take most of them back in exchange for store credit we could use for whatever didn’t get taken off our registry that we still needed.

Thankfully, our seasoned peers encouraged us otherwise, each with the same response to my lamentations of too many towels: “Those’ll come in handy!”

And while I don’t want to think about having children right now, I admit it will save time and money when that season of our lives does come around and we find ourselves with a towel deficit. And once we begin hosting large quantities of people for extended stays (once we have the means to), we’ll have an abundance of guest towels! Keeping this future need in mind, we have all our extra towels stored away either in tubs or in their original packaging, unpacking only a few to use for right now.

______________________________________________

Proverbs 27:12 – A prudent person foresees the danger ahead and takes precautions. The simpleton goes blindly on and suffers the consequences.

This brings me to my point. I know my dilemmas of towel abundance and lack of hair-drying appliances hardly warrant the severity described in Proverbs 27:12 of “going blindly on and suffering the consequences;” nor is saving towels “foreseeing the danger ahead.” It’s merely seeing a need in the future and preparing for it.

For the sake of this illustration, I want to focus on things (blessings, prophetic words) we receive from other people rather than on physical resources.
______________________________________________

Poor Chicken Little...we can relate.

Let’s face it: as believers and as human beings in general, we’re pretty routinely in the middle of some dramatic mess in our lives where we need God to show up and speak the solution into our circumstance. As soon as a symptom of hardship arises, we start flapping around like the sky is falling, trying to call God down from His heavenly throne to intervene in our situation.

We go to our friends for counsel, asking for them to pray and speak encouragement over us. Sometimes the word of encouragement hits right on the nail for that exact situation we’re going through at that exact moment. Other times, we’ll get prophetic words from people that don’t mash up with what we’re going through at all. It’s so easy to dismiss those words and let them pass us by just because we’re not living in the need for that word in the time of its delivery.

One thing I can almost guarantee: if you get spoken over prophetically and it doesn’t have to do with the situation you’re in now, you’re going to need that word whether you received it when you heard it or not.

If you don’t receive the message when you first hear it (and I mean actively—confessing it aloud, writing it down to read and declare over yourself later), chances are you won’t remember it when the time comes you actually need it.

______________________________________________

Something supernatural happens when you allow yourself to receive. It’s so important to take what you’re given, sift it through your filter of the Holy Spirit’s discernment of the truth of the word, and then receive it wholeheartedly as a preemptive weapon in your toolbelt to fight that battle when it comes.

There is wisdom in being prepared and equipped for battles that have not even hit the field yet. When you anticipate and are constantly looking to the future, soaring up and up for God’s perspective on our lives as writing from the end to the beginning, you won’t be taken off guard.

Amos 3:7 states that God doesn’t do anything without first sharing His secrets with His servants, the prophets. So if you’re wondering where God is going to take you next, how He’s going to deliver you out of this situation, maybe you should just receive a word and be encouraged that the fact you have prophetic information for a season that has not yet arrived means your assignment is not yet complete.

Leave a Reply

