Psalm 139:3 – Calling, Anointing, Appointing

Psalm 139:3 – You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do.
______________________________________________

I love that God isn’t pinned to a location. Not only is He not contained within the church, but He’s not confined to my hometown, my hangouts, or my comfort zone. He is constantly moving! Among the first descriptions of God in Genesis is of constant motion:

Genesis 1:2 – The earth was formless and empty, and darkness covered the deep waters. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the surface of the waters.

2 Chronicles 16:9 – The eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.

So God is a God of motion, and we are created in His image, with passion that drives us to go. Doesn’t it make sense that the mobile God moves with us as we move?
______________________________________________

Conversely, I don’t have to go anywhere in order for God to be with me, because He’s already there. It’s so easy to get caught up in the routine of going to church on Sunday or Wednesday night, to the point where we limit the depth of our experience and awareness of Him to the volume of the worship music. I know I struggle with this.

Some people get so zealous for the need in another region—such as Africa, Asia, Seattle—or for the measure of anointing somewhere else such as Bethel Church, that they lose sight of the harvest waiting for them in their own city.

______________________________________________

The reality is, where you are right now is where God wants you, and where you are working to sow seeds, water them, or harvest. There is work for you, right where you are. You are being used for the purposes of the Kingdom.

You, Saint Martins student living in the dorm with not even enough time to go to church; you, janitorial worker whose shifts begin at 6:30 p.m. and end at 2 in the morning; you, mother of 5 whose front door revolves to adapt to the constant flow of traffic.

You are being used for the Kingdom, right where you are.

______________________________________________
I’m not saying to ignore the evangelistic call of God on your life.

As a prophetic evangelist, I get zealous for other regions and distant nations all the time, and I know a time is coming when I will answer the call to go out into the nations. But the timing isn’t mine to decide by any means.
______________________________________________

There are three important variables to God’s timing, according to Joyce Meyer: The call, the anointing, and the appointing.

I know I am called to public ministry. I am called to nations of war and poverty. I’m called to influence influencers, to break off regional and generational curses and encourage world leaders.

I am heavily anointed in the prophetic. I am anointed as a speaker and a writer, and the Lord has smeared a spirit of compassion over me so strongly that on a regular basis I am crippled by grief for someone’s pain or injustice. I once spent a good 20 minutes just weeping for prisoners of war who had undergone waterboarding.

Now, my appointment is right here where I’m at: Lacey, Washington. With my feet in Tumwater and Olympia and my hands in Federal Way and Tacoma, and my heart scattered in churches in between, my place is here. This is where I operate in my anointing, hone in on my calling, and take full advantage of the sphere I have been assigned.

______________________________________________

God is the same whether I’m commuting to school, sitting in class, or baking muffins in the kitchen at home. He sees me from the same perspective no matter where I’m at.

Revisiting the paradox I mentioned yesterday about the mountain and being able to see every one of its craggy, snow-capped surfaces, I would like to illustrate today’s psalm in a similar manner.

On my commute north every morning to school, I see Mount Rainier from varying distances, altitudes, and angles. My perspective of the mountain changes based on where I am positioned in relationship to it.

______________________________________________

Not so with Papa God. He sees me as I am, all of me, inside and out—with perfect clarity. All regardless of where I am, whether I’m pressing into Him at church, losing sight of Him in the mundane of sitting in lecture, or trying to hide from Him in light of a mistake I made.

Every time I look upon Him is like each breathtaking sunrise on the drive up to Federal Way—different, unique, and captivating. My beautiful multifaceted Father is vast enough that I can never grow tired of exploring Him.

______________________________________________

But what gets me is that every moment, He sees all of me. Nothing I do is a surprise, is even new to Him, yet He delights over me—every second of every day! He is happy with me, period. Nothing I could do would ever take away or add to that view.

What peace.

Leave a Reply

