Elephants

“I want to be as strong as my friends think I am.” The words came through tearful sobs in bed a few nights ago as my husband held me.

______________________________________________________ 

How many times do I have to go through this before it sinks in?

I was so frustrated with myself. I’ve been Sozoed twice. I’ve been to three training seminars. I know the tools. I could walk myself through them if I wanted to. I know in my head I have access to everything Kingdom.

So why do I keep  coming back to this?

______________________________________________________ 

My self-accusations were silenced by my husband’s tender chuckle.

“Silly,” he told me, “why waste time wanting to be something you already are?

“That would be like an elephant that goes through life saying, ‘I want to be an elephant, I want to be an elephant! All my friends think I’m an elephant, so I’ve got to be an elephant!’ I’m not saying you’re an elephant, but can you see how silly that is?”

Just one more reminder that I am a human being, not a human doing.

Leave a Reply

